Anyone who has seen me realizes scales and I are not on speaking terms. As a life member of Weight Watchers, I know the rules. I should weigh myself once a week. No more, no less. Well, I’ve missed so many weekly weigh-ins, I decided a few weeks ago to make up for lost time and have started greeting the scale first thing in the morning.

We’ve owned this scale for a number of years. It has an electronic-digital read. One needs to lightly step on the top of the scale to wake it up and get the numbers zeroed. Then, one may step on the scale and stand very still to wait for the number of the day.

For the first week I resumed a rapport with the scale we were both on our best behavior. I wrote down everything I ate. Everything. The scale gave me a precise number each morning. Descending each morning.

The second week, I continued my new morning ritual, but because of the 77 hours that I put in at the library book sale, the numbers continued to be precise, but not descending. Considering that I had 7 breakfasts out, 5 lunches and 3 dinners, which I did not log, I felt blessed to hold my own. I didn’t decrease nor did I increase.

As of yesterday, I’m eating at home more often (still some clean-up at the library) and down a total of 10 pounds since I started keeping track.

This morning when I got on the scale, it started playing games with me. The games I knew it played with me when I had last use it months and months ago. The same game it has played since I let it into my home.

This morning it started with showing me a 15 pound drop from yesterday. “You lie!” I may be good, but I’m not that good.

I stepped off the scale, watched it turn off, stepped lightly on its top to start it up again. As soon as 000 showed, I stepped on absolutely frozen in spot and watched as the display gave a number, changed its mind, fluctuating just a few pounds, but giving me a dance without a song. Neither number would have been bad, but I wanted one number.

I tried the third time which seemed to be the charm. One. Steady. Number.

I didn’t think being a Weight Watcher meant scaling back that quickly.

