Did you notice it?

It wasn’t among NBC’s tape delayed reports. In fact, the news organizations didn’t mention it on any of the programs that I watch (and I am a news junky).

For several weeks the gas in Urbana, Ohio has been $3.34 or so a gallon (sorry, you east coasters). The city 12 miles south of us has had higher priced gas for most of this time. A week ago when I went to Springfield I noticed that the BP on the northern edge of town was in the $3.50s.

always notice the price of gas, so when Husband and I ran some errands in Springfield on Wednesday, I noticed gas had risen to $3.65ish.

I even had a discussion with a man (yes, I do talk to strangers) in Aldi’s. We had gone there knowing we were going to get “cheap” milk. A man proximate to the milk wall was flabbergasted by the price of $2.29 a gallon for milk. (I informed him that the week before the price had been $1.99 a gallon – again, sorry, cousins).

It turned out the man was from Alabama. Because of my earlier travel to the deep south in June, I knew what he was comparing. Milk had been over $4.00 a gallon when I was in Oxford, Mississippi in mid-June – but gasoline was lower than I’d seen for about a year. I had seen $3.10 a gallon shortly before I needed it and paid $3.25.

The man agreed that gasoline in the south (near the off-shore drilling) was less expensive.

Before he left the store, I informed him of the $3.34 a gallon price of gas 10 miles up the road. He asked where and I told him. He said he was going that way “tomorrow” on the way to Michigan (Detroit and Fremont). He opined the price would be higher the next day. I assured him that the price in Urbana had been consistent for two or three weeks.

On the way home, I was surprised to see the overflowing gas station at the southern edge of Urbana. This is usually the last station in town to increase the price of gas. Lines at the gas pump portends more expensive fuel ahead.

I strained to check the price of the Marathon a block from our street. Nope, still $3.34. I had been fooled earlier in the week when I saw lines at one of the Speedways which is usually the first to jump in price. (Just to make sure, I circled around that day and filled my tank at Kroger’s using my rewards and therefore paying only $3.04 a gallon.)

At 10 p.m. Wednesday night, I got off work and drove past four gas stations (this meant I had been past every Urbana gas station that day but one) to pick up Son from work (he worked the gas at Kroger’s that day). The UDF, the Clark, the fooling Speedway and the Kroger’s were all $3.34 a gallon.

Thursday I stayed in the house until about 8:30 p.m. I went out for a quick errand which took me past the non-fooling Speedway. Whoaaaaaaa! Whiplash! Three dollars and eighty-nine cents a gallon!

A fifty-five cent a gallon spike! That is more than one-and-a-half times what a gallon of gas cost when I started driving (32.9).

With a spike like that, I could call this new sport gasoline volleyball.

I think a better name is the gasoline high jump.

