I requested to review The Accident, Chris Pavone’s second mystery. I had previously read his first book, The Expats and enjoyed it. I also had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Pavone at a book retreat that I’ve attended for several years. I enjoyed the first book and was eager to see if the author had grown at all with his sophomore experience.

He has.

This book taps Pavone’s previous long-time career in publishing.

A manuscript arrives via carrier at Isabella’s literary agency. The manuscript denotes the author is ‘anonymous.’ The contact information appears to be spurious but the information in the manuscript is scandalous for a prominent media mogul. Isabella realizes she has been put in a precarious position and tries to limit the number of people who have access to the manuscript.

Pavone has written a tight tale of intrigue that kept me looking over my own shoulder to make sure no one was going to steal this manuscript from my hands. In fact, as soon as I finished the book, I started over to allow myself to play detective from a more knowing position the second time.

With the number of books that I have stacked up to read, this isn’t something I do lightly. Since I liked it twice, I’ll bet you’ll like it once – at least.

Thanks to Blogging for Books for supplying the book to me.

